Amos to Malachi

I have decided to post on the final ten books of the Old Testament, namely Amos, Obadiah, Jonah, Micah, Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah, Haggai, Zechariah and Malachi, as one.  I have found very little to distinguish between them and some other of the books of prophets already posted on.  I have also found it confusing in that they are not in chronological order and jump around back and forth in time which makes it difficult relating these to the correct periods of time and earlier books.  There do also seem to be gaps in time if you are looking at it from a historical point of view.  Were there no prophets in between times?  Or who has decided which ones to record and include, and which have been omitted?

It is unique to my version of the Bible or are the verse numbers out of sequence in chapter 4 of Zechariah in all versions?  Why number out of sequence even if for some reason the original author/scribe did?  I also am still struck by the false prophet.  Who is to say who was and who was not?  It strikes me that Zephaniah possibly was with saying that the Lord will put an end to everyone who lives on Earth.  It hasn’t happened yet and I don’t believe it will be down to the Lord if it does – it will ultimately be humans who destroy human life on Earth whether through their treatment of other people, the Earth its self, or a combination of the two.

I think it is fair to say that the Old Testament has clearly not been for me and I have taken very little from it.  If anything, it has diminished any shred of faith I may have had at the start.  From it alone I struggle to see how so many people in the world are of faith based on this and are fine with that and think it is right.  However, we are all different and it is not over yet.  The New Testament is to come.

 

Leave a Reply

