1 Kings 9-22

What makes a leader that others will follow?  All of us have our views on life and the way it should be lived.  And I doubt I am alone in that while I celebrate and champion the right for everyone to have their own views and be individuals, I also think that just maybe the world would be a better place if a few more people thought and acted as I do.  However, I seem to lack the necessary motivation, and ability to convince others or beat them into submission, to do anything about it.  And if you have read any of my previous posts you will know that I could never turn to violence.

We are not all born free.  Wherever we are born, we have certain obligations to the state imposed upon us and certain rules we must follow which are decreed by its leader: all of us are constricted in this way.  I consider myself lucky to be living in a democracy in which I can have a small say in who my leader is – whether the majority of my fellow citizens end up agreeing with me is another matter.

We are all to a degree influenced by our upbringings, some believing unquestionably all they are taught, or plain just too frightened of the consequences of breaking away from the mould.  I know I am fortunate to have been born in a country where my thoughts can take me anywhere I want them to; where I can question and explore; where I can find the different point of view from that of which I am being told I should believe as if the majority is always ‘right’.

 

Leave a Reply

