Judges 17-21

This is by far the most horrendous section of the Bible I have read so far.  If it was a film it would come with a warning that some people (I would hope most people) would find the following distressing.  People living in peace and have no quarrel with anyone are wiped out.  People are used as disposable objects.  Through infighting, one of the twelve tribes of Israel is nearly wiped out.  Violence is the way to go and just taking what you want by force.  What sort of lesson is that to learn?  No wonder the world is in the mess it is in if this is the example that people are following.  Surely that can not be right.  I can not find any reason for having a faith if this is the way that it is followed and I realise that is a very negative thing to say.  I am not writing it off entirely for me personally just yet, after all there is still a long way to go, but so far I am aware that I have probably seemed to be negative in general in this regard and am still waiting to find more of a positive nature.

Leave a Reply

